National Window Chains Compared: Window World, Window Nation, Universal Windows Direct, and Renewal by Andersen on What Their Own Warranty Documents Say
Last reviewed: 2026-09-27
Researched and written by one person, not an editorial team. I am an independent researcher, not a licensed contractor, and I have never installed a window. I have not been paid by any company named on this page, and none of them reviewed or approved this comparison before publication. This site earns revenue when visitors submit a form on a different page that routes contact information to a disclosed set of installation companies and/or lead networks; see the About page for details. This particular page carries no lead form and nothing on it routes you to one.
What this page is, and what it is not
Window World, Window Nation, and Universal Windows Direct are the three largest installed-sale national window chains — companies that sell and install windows (and, for two of the three, doors and siding) as a packaged product under one brand, either through a franchise network or company-owned branches, rather than selling a manufacturer's product through independent local dealers. I've added Renewal by Andersen — the replacement-window subsidiary of Andersen Corporation, sold through independently owned dealers — as the premium-tier comparison, because its own warranty document takes a structurally different approach to the same question, and that difference is the most useful thing on this page.
This is not a ranking. It does not say which company to hire, and it does not evaluate installation quality — I have not inspected any installed job from any of these companies. What follows is a comparison of the exact words in each company's own published warranty document, because the marketing language ("true lifetime warranty," "limited lifetime warranty") is nearly identical across all three chains, and the actual documents are not.
Company profile
| Window World | Window Nation | Universal Windows Direct | Renewal by Andersen | |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Founded (company's own statement) | 1995, per the company's About page (Window World, "About", retrieved 2026-09-27) | 2006, per the company's About page (Window Nation, "About Us", retrieved 2026-09-27) | 2002, per the company's own company-history page (Universal Windows Direct, "About Us", retrieved 2026-09-27) | 1995 (first store, Minnesota), per Andersen Corporation's own "Our Story" page (Andersen, "History of Andersen", retrieved 2026-09-27) |
| Headquarters | North Wilkesboro, NC | Fulton, MD | Historically Cleveland-area, OH (Akron, then Valley View, then Oakwood Village per the company's own timeline) | Bayport, MN (Andersen Corporation) |
| Business model, in the company's own words | "Nationally known, locally owned" — a franchise system, "over 230 franchise locations nationwide" | Company describes itself as having grown from one Maryland showroom; its own About page does not state whether current locations are company-owned or franchised | Company's own history page describes both "authorized retail (dealer)" locations and company-owned branches opened over time (Charlotte 2011, Indianapolis 2015, and others) | "Full-service window replacement subsidiary of Andersen Corporation," sold and installed by "independently owned and operated" dealers under the Renewal by Andersen brand |
| Products beyond windows | Doors and siding | Doors | Doors, siding, roofing, gutters (per its own site navigation) | Doors (Renewal by Andersen does not sell siding) |
| BBB accreditation (national/franchisor-level profile only — see note below) | Accredited since 11/11/2009, A+ (BBB, Window World Inc. profile, retrieved 2026-09-27) | Accredited since 11/27/2024 (BBB, Window Nation LLC profile, retrieved 2026-09-27) | Accredited since 12/8/2016 (BBB, Universal Windows Direct profile, retrieved 2026-09-27) | No single national profile — see note below |
A note on the BBB row, because it's the row most likely to be misread. Window World's own BBB profile states this explicitly: "This report only reflects experience with the national franchise headquarters and their national advertising. For BBB experience with individually owned and operated local franchised locations, you must search for that individual company's BBB report" (BBB, Window World Inc. profile, retrieved 2026-09-27). Window World has 230+ independently owned franchises, each of which can carry its own, separate BBB profile and rating; the row above tells you only about the corporate franchisor. Renewal by Andersen has no equivalent single national profile at all — its dealers are independently owned and operated, and each one (for example, "Renewal By Andersen of Twin Cities" in Cottage Grove, MN) carries its own BBB listing (retrieved 2026-09-27). The practical consequence: a national "A+ rating" citation for any of these companies tells you about the franchisor or one dealer, not about the specific crew that would show up at your house. Look up the specific local entity on your contract, not the brand name.
The warranty comparison: what each company's own document actually says
I did not rely on marketing pages that summarize "lifetime warranty." For Window World and Universal Windows Direct I opened the actual PDF document; for Window Nation and Renewal by Andersen I read the company's own warranty page in full. Four properties, because this is where the four companies diverge in ways a search snippet won't show you.
| Property | Window World | Window Nation | Universal Windows Direct | Renewal by Andersen |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| What "lifetime" actually covers | The manufacturer's product warranty (vinyl parts, mechanical parts, insulated glass unit) runs "for as long as the Owner resides in the home." Window World Inc. itself does not issue this warranty — it's issued by whichever vinyl-product manufacturer supplied the window (Window World, "Manufacturers' Residential Vinyl Product Warranty Overview," retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction). | "Limited lifetime transferable warranty on defects for as long as you own your home, subject to the warranty terms specific to your model" (Window Nation, warranty information page, retrieved 2026-09-27). | "Universal Windows Direct warrants its products for as long as the original purchaser owns the property," covering pieces/parts/materials, glass systems and frames, locks and hardware, and installation and labor, in one combined warranty (Universal Windows Direct, "True Lifetime Warranty," retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction). | The word "lifetime" does not appear anywhere in Renewal by Andersen's own limited-warranty document. Coverage is stated entirely in fixed terms: 20 years (Fibrex material and insulating glass), 10 years (non-glass components), 2 years (installation) (Renewal by Andersen, "Corporation Limited Warranty for Renewal by Andersen Products and Installation," as hosted at weloveournewwindows.com, retrieved 2026-09-27; the 20-year glass/Fibrex and 2-year installation terms also appear on Renewal by Andersen's own warranty page, retrieved 2026-09-27). |
| Labor / installation coverage, separate from the parts warranty | Window World Inc.'s own "Repair Labor Guarantee" — a document separate from the manufacturer's parts warranty — covers labor for 2 years on Window Series under 3000, or 5 years on Series 3000+ and on all sliding patio doors, "depending on the product purchased" (same PDF, primary-document extraction). | Labor warranty duration is "one year, five years or a lifetime, depending on your contract" — i.e., not a fixed, company-wide term; it is set contract by contract (Window Nation warranty page, retrieved 2026-09-27). | Installation and labor are folded into the same lifetime, non-prorated warranty as the parts — no separate, shorter labor term (Universal Windows Direct warranty PDF, retrieved 2026-09-27). | 2 years from the original installation date, and explicitly "does not extend to labor/services performed by anyone other than the original authorized installer" (Renewal by Andersen warranty document, retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction). |
| Is the warranty transferable, and on what terms | The manufacturer's parts warranty "may be transferred once by the original residential purchaser to a subsequent residential owner within 30-days of the property transfer date" (same PDF). Window World Inc.'s own Repair Labor Guarantee, by contrast, explicitly "applies only to the original purchaser ('Purchaser') ... and cannot be transferred to any other person or party" (same PDF, primary-document extraction). | Transferable; the transfer request must be sent within 60 days of closing, and the company states "we will reach out with the transfer cost" — i.e., a fee applies but the amount is not published (Window Nation warranty page, retrieved 2026-09-27). | "100% transferable to a subsequent homeowner for a period of 30 years" — meaning the subsequent owner's coverage is capped at 30 years from installation, not lifetime, even though the original purchaser's own coverage has no such cap (Universal Windows Direct warranty PDF, retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction). | Stated as "a fully transferable limited warranty covering parts, labor, and original installation services" in the document's opening line, but — unlike the three chains above — the document contains no stated transfer deadline and no stated transfer fee (Renewal by Andersen warranty document, retrieved 2026-09-27). |
| Glass — breakage vs. seal failure | The overview names only "Glass Breakage Warranty" as a line item and defers entirely to the underlying manufacturer's document: "See manufacturer's warranty for availability and exclusions" — meaning Window World's own overview does not itself promise breakage coverage (same PDF, primary-document extraction). Separately, the insulated-glass-unit warranty covers only "film formation caused by dust or moisture" (seal failure/fogging), not breakage. | Explicitly covers "glass seal failures, causing fogging between the panes of glass"; the page is silent on accidental breakage as a distinct category (Window Nation warranty page, retrieved 2026-09-27). | The warranty document names "glass systems and frames" among covered components but does not, in the text I read, define a separate accidental-breakage clause or a proration schedule for glass specifically (Universal Windows Direct warranty PDF, retrieved 2026-09-27). | Covers "manufacturing defects" and "premature failure of the glass or organic seal" for 20 years; the document does not mention accidental breakage as a covered event, and "slight glass curvature and minor scratches ... that do not impair structural rigidity" are explicitly excluded (Renewal by Andersen warranty document, retrieved 2026-09-27). |
| Proration | Not stated in the overview document (silent — neither confirmed nor denied for the manufacturer's underlying warranty). | Not addressed on the page I read. | Explicitly non-prorated: "100% non pro-rated and 100% transferable ... for a period of 30 years" (Universal Windows Direct warranty PDF, retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction). | Not framed as proration at all — coverage simply ends at the stated year (2, 10, or 20) rather than declining toward zero. |
The finding that doesn't show up in any marketing page: Window World's warranty is actually two warranties
This is the single most consequential thing I found opening these documents instead of reading a summary of them. Window World markets "a manufacturer's lifetime limited warranty, good for as long as you own your home" (Window World, warranty page, retrieved 2026-09-27). That's true, but it describes only the parts — and it's issued by the window's manufacturer, not by Window World Inc. The labor needed to act on that parts warranty is a separate document, issued by Window World Inc. itself, with its own separate term (2 to 5 years depending on the window series purchased) and its own separate rule: it "cannot be transferred to any other person or party," full stop — no 30-day window, no fee, no exception (Window World, "Repair Labor Guarantee," retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction).
Concretely: if you buy Window World windows, live in the house 12 years, and sell it, the buyer inherits a lifetime parts warranty (assuming the 30-day transfer notice and fee are handled) — but not the labor to act on it, because the Repair Labor Guarantee expired at year 2 or year 5 and was never transferable to begin with. Whether that gap matters to you depends on whether you plan to be the "original purchaser" for the life of the window. Universal Windows Direct's document is the clean counter-example: it states plainly that installation and labor are folded into the same transferable warranty as the parts, with no separate, shorter labor clock running underneath it.
Doors and siding: the same "lifetime" word covers a different document
Three of the four companies compared here sell more than windows, and the warranty for those other products isn't automatically the same document as the window warranty — a distinction the "lifetime warranty" headline on a company's homepage doesn't surface.
Window World's own overview document is explicit about this for entry doors: "Entry door systems, storm doors, and garden windows are covered by a separate manufacturer's warranty" from the vinyl window/patio-door overview quoted throughout this page (Window World, "Manufacturers' Residential Vinyl Product Warranty Overview," retrieved 2026-09-27, primary-document extraction). Practically: if a Window World salesperson describes "our lifetime warranty" while quoting an entry door, the document that actually governs that door is not the one this page analyzed — ask specifically for the entry-door warranty document, by name, rather than assuming the vinyl-window terms carry over.
Universal Windows Direct takes the opposite approach for siding: its dedicated siding warranty page states the same structure, in nearly the same words, as its window warranty — "100% non pro-rated warranties that are 100% transferrable to the subsequent homeowner for up to 30 years," covering "pieces, parts, and materials" plus "installation and labor" (Universal Windows Direct, "Siding Installation Warranty," retrieved 2026-09-27). Unlike the window warranty PDF, the siding page also advertises two named add-ons — "Lifetime Fade Protection" and "Hail Damage Protection" — without stating, on the page I read, the specific fade-threshold numbers or hail-size exclusions those add-ons carry. Renewal by Andersen does not sell siding at all, so the comparison doesn't apply to it; Window Nation sells doors but I did not find a door-specific warranty document separate from the general page quoted above, which — unlike Window World's explicit carve-out — suggests either one warranty covers both products at Window Nation or the distinction simply isn't published where I could find it.
Renewal by Andersen: the outlier that doesn't say "lifetime" at all
Every one of the three chains above leads with "lifetime" as the headline word. Renewal by Andersen's own limited-warranty document — the one hosted and reproduced by its dealer network, since Renewal by Andersen sells exclusively through independently owned dealers rather than a single corporate storefront — never uses the word. Instead it states three fixed terms: 20 years for Fibrex material and insulating glass, 10 years for other components (locks, lifts, balance systems, hinges, handles, screens, weatherstripping), and 2 years for installation labor (Renewal by Andersen, warranty document, retrieved 2026-09-27). That is a shorter labor term than Window World's top-tier 5-year Repair Labor Guarantee, and a much shorter one than Universal Windows Direct's lifetime-labor claim. It is also a warranty structure that never promises to run for "as long as you own your home" on anything — every clock in the document has a stated end date. Whether a bounded, itemized warranty is worth trading against three "lifetime" claims that turn out, on the actual document, to be narrower than they sound is a judgment call this page is not going to make for you; the point is that you can't make that judgment from the marketing page of any of the four companies, only from the document.
Why a "best window company" ranking site won't tell you any of this
Sites that rank window companies overwhelmingly disclose that they are paid by the companies they rank. NerdWallet's own window-company rankings page states this directly: "Many or all of the products on this page are from partners who compensate us when you click to or take an action on their website, but this does not influence our evaluations or ratings" (NerdWallet, "Best Window Companies," retrieved 2026-09-27). That disclosure doesn't make the ranking dishonest — NerdWallet states it plainly, which is more than some competitors do — but it does mean a ranking site's incentive is to produce a rankable comparison (stars, an "our pick" badge), not to reproduce the proration schedule from a PDF. Nothing in a compensated ranking's business model rewards opening the actual warranty document, because the document doesn't change the ranking; it only changes what you'd tell a homeowner who asked a follow-up question. That's the gap this page exists to fill, once — for these four companies — rather than asserting a ranking of our own.
What we could not verify
- Whether Window Nation's current locations are company-owned, franchised, or a mix. Its own About page describes company growth and history but does not state the ownership structure of individual branches the way Window World's franchise language or Universal Windows Direct's "authorized retail (dealer)" language does. I did not find a page on windownation.com that states this directly, so I left it unstated rather than guess.
- The dollar amount of the warranty-transfer fee for Window World ("then-current transfer fee") and Window Nation ("we will reach out with the transfer cost"). Neither company publishes the figure; both documents defer it to a later, individualized conversation. I did not call either company to ask, because a phone-quoted figure isn't a citable document and could change by region or by representative.
- Whether Universal Windows Direct's accidental-glass-breakage coverage exists as a distinct clause. A third-party aggregator claimed UWD's warranty "covers accidental breakage, excluding tempered glass," but the warranty PDF I opened and read directly does not contain that specific language — it names "glass systems and frames" as a covered component without a breakage-specific clause. I'm reporting what the document I read actually says, not the aggregator's paraphrase, and flagging the discrepancy rather than picking one.
- Current, dealer-specific BBB ratings for any of these companies at the location that would actually service your address. The BBB row above is the corporate/franchisor-level profile only, for the reasons explained in the note under that table. A specific local franchise, branch, or dealer can have a materially different rating.
- Whether Window World's Repair Labor Guarantee terms have changed since the February 2024 print date on the PDF I read (the document itself is stamped "WW-WWi-100 02/24"). Warranty documents are periodically reissued; if you're evaluating a current quote, ask the local franchise for the document dated closest to today.
- The specific fade-threshold and hail-size numbers behind Universal Windows Direct's "Lifetime Fade Protection" and "Hail Damage Protection" siding add-ons. The page names both programs but the text I read did not state the numeric thresholds; I'm not asserting a number I didn't see.
- Whether Window Nation publishes a separate door-specific warranty document. I did not find one distinct from the general warranty page cited throughout this comparison; that could mean one document covers both products, or that a separate document exists somewhere I didn't locate.
Sources
All retrieved 2026-09-27.
- Window World, "Manufacturers' Residential Vinyl Product Warranty Overview" and "Vinyl Window & Vinyl Sliding Patio Door Repair Labor Guarantee" (combined PDF) (primary-document extraction)
- Window World, "Warranties"
- Window World, "About"
- BBB, Window World, Inc. business profile
- Window Nation, "Warranty Information"
- Window Nation, "About Us"
- BBB, Window Nation, LLC business profile
- Universal Windows Direct, "True Lifetime Warranty" (PDF) (primary-document extraction)
- Universal Windows Direct, "About Us"
- BBB, Universal Windows Direct business profile
- Universal Windows Direct, "Siding Installation Warranty"
- Renewal by Andersen, warranty document as reproduced by Renewal By Andersen of Twin Cities (primary-document extraction; I could not load Andersen's own helpcenter.andersenwindows.com article, which returned a JavaScript-rendered page with no static text — see note below)
- Andersen Windows, "History of Andersen"
- BBB, Renewal By Andersen of Twin Cities business profile (cited as an illustration of the dealer-level BBB structure, not as a national rating)
- NerdWallet, "Best Window Companies of 2026" (ranking site; its own paid-placement/compensation disclosure is quoted above)